Data Preservation

The deposited data are stored on a running virtual machine. They are secured against

  • Physical loss
  • Change of the data
  • Unauthorized access

Protection against physical loss

The virtual machine run on a distributed hardware environment in two separate buildings. The storage is realized with RAID disks. In addition, we the inhouse IT takes daily snapshots of the virtual machines, and keeps them for at least six months at a secured place. IN case of data loss, the virtual machine can be reconstructed from a snapshot.

The servers for the virtual machines and the backup servers are located in different buildungs and only accessible to technical staff. The snapshots are scheduled as follows: 4 snapshots per day for the first 95 days, allowing a dense rollback, some snapshots are kept upto two years. The integrity of the snapshots is checked weekly. There is a backup on hard disk drives every six month. Those backups are stored in a fire-resistent vault (fire resistency class LFS 30P (EN 15659)).

Protection against change of data

The repository monitors the integrity of all archived files using two kinds of checksums (MD5 and SHA1). The checksums are controlled on a daily basis, and in case of a checksum mismatch a backup copy of the resource will be restored.

Protection against unauthorized access

The virtual machine of the repository is run behind a firewall. From the outside, only the standard http and https ports are accessible, and they only provide access to resources under free licenses. A remote login to the machine is only possible via Secure Shell. The server is only accessible to the repository staff.

Datenaufbewahrung

Die Daten werden auf einer virtuellen Maschine aufbewahrt und sind gegen die folgenden Gefahren abgesichert:

  • Verlust der Daten
  • Veränderung der Daten
  • Unbefugter Zugriff

Absicherung gegen Verlust der Daten

Die Virtuelle Maschine läuft auf einer verteilten Hardware-Umgebung in zwei verschiedenen Gebäuden. Die Speicherung findet auf RAID-Systemen statt. Außerdem werden regelmäßig Snapshots der virtuellen Maschine gesichert, von denen im Fall eines Datenverlustes die Daten rekonstruiert werden können.

Die Server für die Virtuellen Maschinen und die Backup-Server befinden sich in verschiedenen Gebäuden und sind nur dem technischen Personal zugänglich. Die Snapshots werden nach folgendem Zeitplan angefertigt: In den ersten 95 Tagen wird viermal pro Tag ein Snapshot gezogen. Die Integrität der Snapshops wird alle sieben Tage überprüft. Zudem werden alle sechs Monate Backups auf Festplatten durchgeführt, die in einem Tresor (Feuerwiderstand LFS 30P nach EN 15659 / Sicherheitsstufe S2 nach DIN EN 14450) aufbewahrt werden.

Absicherung gegen Veränderung der Daten

Das Repositorium beobachtet einmal am Tag die IntegritäT aller Dateien durch die Kontrolle zweier verschiedener Checksummen (MD5 und SHA1). Im Falle einer Abweichung der Checksumme werden die Dateien aus dem Backup rekonstruiert.

Absicherung gegen unbefugten Zugriff

Die Virtuelle Maschine läuft hinter einer Firewall, die nur die kanonischen Ports fü http und https zugänglich macht. Über diese Ports sind nur die frei zugänglichen Ressourcen sichtbar. Ein Login auf die Maschine ist nur über Secure Shell möglich. Der Server wird nur von den Mitarbeitern des Repositoriums genutzt.